The Early Years Foundation Stage

What is the Early Years Foundation Stage?


The Early Years Foundation Stage, (EYFS) sets the statutory standards that all early years providers must meet. This includes all maintained schools, non-maintained schools, independent schools and all providers on the early years register. The EYFS applies to all children from birth to age five.


The Early Years Foundation Stage aims to provide;

-quality and consistency in all early years settings

-a secure foundation for all children for good progress through school and life

-partnerships between different practitioners

-partnerships between parents or carers and practioners

-equality of opportunity for all children


Whilst your child is in the Early Years Foundation Stage, at any age and in any setting they will be assigned a Key Person. It is the Key Person's role to help ensure that every child's care is tailored to meet their individual needs to help the child become familiar with the setting, offer a settled relationship for the child and build a relationship with the child's parents or carer's.


What are the learning and development areas in the Early Years Foundation Stage?

There are three prime areas in the EYFS and four specific areas, each of these are then split into different sub areas. The three prime areas are the most important areas and are needed for a child to develop and progress in the specific areas.

The Prime Areas are;


-Personal Social and Emotional Development (PSED)

Making Relationships

Self confidence and Self awareness

Managing feelings and behaviour


-Communication and Language (CL)

Listening and Attention




-Physical Development (PD)

Moving and Handling

Health and Self-care

The Specific Areas are;


-Literacy (L)




-Mathematics (M)


Shape, Space and Measure


-Understanding the World (UTW)

People and Communities

The World



-Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)

Exploring and Using Media and Materials

Being Imaginative

What is the Early Years Profile?

All early years providers must complete an EYFS profile for each child in the final term of the year in which they turn five. For most children this is the reception year in primary school.


The main purpose of this is to provide an accurate assessment of individual children at the end of the EYFS. The profile describes each child's attainment against 17 early learning goals, together with a short narrative about their learning characteristics.



How do we record the children's learning and development?

In Owls Reception the children have a learning journey, a literacy book, and mathematics, understanding the world and literacy folders. All of their work is either directly in one of these or stuck into them. The children are observed through incidental stickers, and narrative observations which are stuck into their learning journeys.


In Owlets Nursery the children have a learning journey and all of their work, photographs, incidental observations and narrative observations are stuck into them.


For both Owls and Owlets their books and their work is linked back to the EYFS and the appropriate learning areas. You will see marks in their books such as MH, R, EUMM and BI, these relate to the different sub areas within a learning area.


Click here to go back to the Owlets Homepage

Click here to go back to the Owls Homepage